From Chernobyl to Fukushima

After almost 70 years of civilian use, the various accidents that have marked the history of nuclear energy reveal our inability to control the power of the atom fully. A look at the weakness of the civilian nuclear power industry.

 

The health and environmental risks posed by radioactivity were not revealed until relatively late in the history of atomic power. In the 1920s and 30s, radioactivity was seen as a miracle remedy rather than a lethal substance because of the progress it achieved in the field of medicine and the unshakable faith in the alliance between science and technology that the Industrial Revolution gave the Western world.

Advertising poster for the energizing drink Zoé (1950)

Only once the first cancers were diagnosed and attributed to daily contact with radioactivity did its dangerousness come to light, especially in the watchmaking industry in the town of Bienne, Switzerland. At the end of WWII, the devastation caused by the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki raised the first ethical questions. At once apocalyptic and divine, the atom recalled the fire granted to mankind by Prometheus, as well as the ensuing question: would mankind one day deserve such power?

The control of its devastating power presupposes the infallible safety of the technology used to prevent inevitable human errors as well as political stability and wisdom. The interdependence of these three factors renders our ability to respond to technical failures that much more difficult.

The assertion of total control over nuclear power that was made from the outset to justify a mass recourse to this form of energy resurfaces in the statements made by authorities after an accident. However, we have gradually shifted from “accidents are impossible” before 1986 to “there is no such thing as zero risk” after Fukushima.

Accidents, a sure bet

In fact, accidents have continuously marked the almost 70-year history of our use of the atom. Since the early 1950s, one major accident involving the functioning of a reactor has occurred almost every year, and sometimes several times a year on a global scale.

 


The cause is the increase in the number of nuclear reactors, which multiplies the probability of such accidents. There are 58 reactors in France alone, which currently provide more than 75% of the electricity consumed domestically. The frequency of these accidents testifies to the impossibility of controlling nuclear power completely, but generally only accidents that have major health and environmental consequences attract any attention and periodically result in a questioning of the model.

 

 

In 1957, at the same time that the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) was created within the UN and President Eisenhower’s famous “Atoms for Peace” speech had subtly begun to affect energy policies in Western countries, the first nuclear catastrophe occurred, but in the greatest silence. In Kychtym in the Soviet Union, a reservoir containing several dozen tons of nuclear waste exploded.

The accident suspected by Western authorities was only publicly disclosed in 1980 by Jaurès Medvedev. The opacity with which the USSR managed this accident did not provoke any doubts among the politicians, administrators, and civilian populations of countries who had opted for nuclear energy. This opacity in managing accidents is not unique to the USSR. The majority of accidents at reactors in Western countries, though smaller in size, have been managed in a similar fashion. Operators continue to boast how safe their infrastructure is because it combines modern technology and the latest scientific expertise.

Civilian nuclear energy thus benefited from the general public’s great trust. The consequences of nuclear accidents were ignored and their risk was estimated to be minimal. 20 years after the explosion at Kychtym, the accident on March 28, 1979 at the Three Mile Island plant finally began to chip away at the commonly held belief that nuclear accidents were impossible. Nevertheless, this accident, which did not kill anyone and whose radiation of the ground and river was invisible and diffuse, was not perceived as a catastrophe, and it did not influence either the management or perception of civilian nuclear power in Europe.

The two cooling towers and the front part of the power plant at Three Mile Island (USA) (height: 125 meters; power: 805 mW). Photo by Jean-Paul ANTOINE, Jean-Luc and Sylvie BURGUNDER Fund, Foundation for Political Ecology.

Experts in France advocated for the national network and their exceptional safety; however, doubts began to creep into citizens’ minds and helped foment protests and policies that sought to fight the Messmer Plan’s construction projects.

Less than a decade later, on April 26, 1986, the accident at Chernobyl in the Ukraine further reduced the certainty that the technology was infallible. The scale of the accident’s health and environmental effects, which emerged gradually over time, profoundly shook the myth of the nuclear power industry’s total safety. Nuclear became stressful.

APRIL 26, 1986: Chernobyl, Ukraine

On April 25, as an experiment was being conducted on reactor no. 4 at the nuclear power plant in Chernobyl, which was an RBMK type, like most Societ reactors, the team of technicians in charge committed a serious breach of the operating rules. They isolated the reactor’s safety cooling circuit and placed the reactor’s power at a particularly unstable level. During the night, the reactor went out of control. On April 26 at 1:23 AM, in just a few seconds, an increase in power caused an explosion that launched 1,000 tons of cement slab from the reactor into the air, which then fell back onto the reactor and cracked it open, sending 50 tons of radioactive fuel into a state of fusion. A few seconds later, a second explosion occurred. 5 to 10 times more powerful that the first, this cleaved the building even more and leaked 70 tons of fuel out of the reactor. A radioactive plume escaped from the damaged reactor, where the fusion continued.

State of the Caesium-137 contamination in 1996 after the accident at the Chernobyl nuclear power plant, 2006, Eric Gaba.

A radioactive cloud formed above the site and began to spread across almost all of Europe.

Prypiat and the other villages surrounding the plant were evacuated during the day on April 27. As the radioactive fire continued to spew fumes, the first experts were sent in to assess the damages and try to put out the fire. Several hundred young army recruits were sent to work at the site for several months after the fire was finally contained, cleaning and building the “sarcophagus” to cover the reactor that they hoped would enclose and contain the radioactivity.

 

“We didn’t have any dosimeters. In four and a half years, I never once saw one of these devices, nicknamed “pencils,” which indicate the accumulation of doses of external radiation. And we ignored the “cassettes” that were given to the entire team. They were designed for small doses. Because the dose was high, we knew that the limit had been exceeded, but we had no way of knowing by how much.”

Natalia Mazourova, “From the ‘Trace’ to the ‘Zone’.” Tumultes 1/2009 (no. 32-33), pgs. 145-159.

 

In France, the management of the passage of the radioactive cloud from the Chernobyl explosion is symptomatic of the opacity surrounding nuclear accidents. As the cloud reached the countries bordering France, the official line offered by the Office of Protection against Ionizing Radiation (SCPRI) and its Director Pierre Pellerin was to reassure the public that the cloud had not crossed over into French territory.

The SCPRI continued to engage in this act of veritable dissimulation for 10 days following the accident. The media were exploited as the weather reports on television spoke of the miraculous presence of an anti-cyclone that kept the radioactive cloud at bay along the country’s eastern boundaries.

“It’s a kind of event that I would call open-ended. These catastrophes are limitless over time, in space, and in the social imagination. This is why, even when we rely on statistics, for example, we have a hard time imagining how many deaths and injuries it entails. To push this reasoning further, we can say that today, 25 years after Chernobyl, many of the accident’s victims haven’t even been born yet.” Ulrich Beck

From the film The World after Fukushima, by Kenichi Watanabe, 2012.

 

In the CEA’s research centers, the detectors at the EDF power plants clearly detected the cloud’s passage, but people were prohibited from providing information to the general public. At the same time, as neighboring countries took numerous steps to protect their populations, especially by prohibiting the consumption of fresh foods, French authorities did not adopt a single measure.

 

“At Saclay (CEA), management prohibited any explanation of the measures we had taken, which nevertheless did not reveal anything terribly worrisome ”

 

recalled M. Zerbib, former Radiation Protection Engineer at CEA (France). 

 

 

This veritable lie by the government was instantly refuted by numerous voices from within the scientific community who expressed their indignation at the government’s inaction. In eastern France, citizens came together and took things into their own hands at the local level. This initiative gave rise to the Commission for Independent Research and Information on Radioactivity (CRII-Rad), which challenged the SCPRI’s statements and conducted its own assessment.

 

Similarly, the Association for Monitoring Radioactivity in the West, or ACRO, also played a very important role in terms of creating citizen awareness and providing a counter-balance in the nuclear domain.

 

 

On May 10, in a televised debate with Monique Sené, nuclear physicist and researcher at the CNRS, Pierre Pellerin finally admitted that the cloud was passing over France.

The criticisms following the accident at Chernobyl focused more on the handling of information and the government’s dishonesty than on the safety of the nuclear model. After some discrediting by the media, experts once again vaunted how exceptionally safe the French infrastructure was compared to the run-down Soviet reactors. However, the two accidents at the Saint-Laurent-des-Eaux plant along the Loire in 1963 and again in 1980 showed that the French system also had its vulnerabilities.

The accident at Chernobyl gave new momentum to criticisms of nuclear energy across Europe: in 1987, Italy held a referendum that expressed the will of the majority of its citizens not to use nuclear energy; in Germany, the social-democratic party (SPD) foresaw a move away from nuclear energy. Nevertheless, these questionings of the viability of electricity obtained from nuclear power remained isolated cases.

 

MARCH 11, 2011: Fukushima, Japan

It took until the most recent nuclear catastrophe at Fukushima in Japan for nuclear power plant operators to find themselves once more in the hot seat. In the days following March 11, 2011, an earthquake and tsunami pushed 4 reactor cores at the Fukushima Daïchi plant into fusion.

 

Japan, a paradigm of modern technology and democracy, had become the site of a nuclear disaster. It was then that France and Western countries in general realized that they were not safe from similar accidents in their own territory.

 

The media continued to expound the idea that an exceptionally powerful earthquake followed by the tsunami that hit Japan’s coasts are risks that would never affect France. Never mind the storm of 1999 that demonstrated the vulnerability of the Blayais power plant to flooding, or the placement of the Fessenheim plant in a seismically active area.

 

After the accident in Japan, the Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN) asked EDF to implement additional safety measures, but in essence, France’s energy policy has not changed course at all.

To the contrary, other countries drew lessons from the catastrophe: Japan decided to stop using nuclear power immediately and definitively; Germany, Switzerland, and Belgium announced that they would transition out of it gradually.

 

Will reason finally prevail one day?

At the time of the Messmer Plan in 1974, nuclear power advocates estimated the probability of an accident to be absolutely minimal, on the order of 1 in several million, or rather, one accident every 25,000 years. That’s not true at all. The various accidents throughout the 20th century demonstrate the vulnerability of nuclear facilities to human error, malfunction, and natural disasters.

In an interview with the daily newspaper Libération on March 3, 2016, Pierre-Franck Chevet, President of the Nuclear Safety Authority, deplored the lack of awareness of the risks involved: “We need to imagine that a Fukushima-type accident could happen in Europe.”

The disastrous and long-lasting consequences of these accidents should lead us to reconsider the use of an energy model that has proven to be chronically devastating, as our decision not to do anything will surely have dire consequences for future generations.

De Tchernobyl à Fukushima

Après presque 70 ans d’usage civil, les différents accidents qui jalonnent l’histoire du nucléaire révèlent l’impuissance de l’homme à maîtriser pleinement la puissance atomique. Retour sur les faiblesses de l’industrie nucléaire civile.

 

Les risques sanitaires et écologiques induits par la radioactivité n’ont été décelés que relativement tard dans l’histoire de l’atome. Dans les années 1920 et 1930, la radioactivité était ainsi perçue comme un remède miracle, plutôt qu’une substance mortifère, en raison des progrès médicaux qu’elle permettait et de la foi inébranlable en l’alliance de la science et de la technique que la Révolution industrielle avait portée dans le monde occidental.

Affiche publicitaire pour la boisson energisante Zoé (1950).

Ce n’est qu’avec le diagnostic des premiers cancers imputés à son contact quotidien que la dangerosité de la radioactivité apparaît au grand jour, notamment dans l’industrie horlogère de la ville de Bienne en Suisse. À la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les dévastations des bombardements d’Hiroshima et de Nagazaki soulèvent les premières questions éthiques. À la fois apocalyptique et divin, l’atome rappelle le feu donné aux hommes par Prométhée et pose cette question : les hommes seront-ils un jour dignes d’un tel pouvoir ?

Sa puissance dévastatrice suppose pour être contrôlée une sécurité infaillible des moyens techniques censés encadrer l’inévitable erreur humaine, mais aussi la stabilité et la sagesse du politique. De quoi donner le vertige tant l’interdépendance de ces trois facteurs rend plus difficile encore la capacité de l’homme à répondre à une défaillance technique.

L’affirmation de la totale maîtrise du nucléaire, mise en avant dès l’origine pour justifier le recours généralisé à cette énergie, se retrouve dans le discours des autorités à la suite des accidents. Passé graduellement de « l’accident est impossible » avant 1986, à « le risque zéro n’existe pas » après Fukushima.

Les accidents, une valeur sûre

En effet, pendant 70 ans, les accidents ont jalonné l’histoire de l’utilisation de l’atome. Depuis le début des années 1950, un incident majeur et propre au fonctionnement d’un réacteur survient presque annuellement et, parfois, plusieurs fois par an à l’échelle de la planète.

En cause, l’augmentation du nombre de réacteurs nucléaires qui multiplie la probabilité de ces incidents – 58 réacteurs rien qu’en France, qui fournissent aujourd’hui plus de 75% de l’électricité consommée dans l’Hexagone. Si la fréquence de ces accidents témoigne de l’impossibilité de maîtriser entièrement la puissance nucléaire, seuls les accidents aux conséquences sanitaires et environnementales majeures retiennent généralement l’attention et aboutissent périodiquement à une remise en question du modèle.

 

 

En 1957, alors même qu’est créée au sein de l’ONU l’Agence internationale à l’énergique atomique (AIEA) et que le fameux discours “atoms for peace” du Président Eisenhower s’impose doucement dans les politiques énergétiques des pays occidentaux, c’est dans le plus grand silence que la première catastrophe nucléaire a lieu. En Union soviétique à Kychtym, un réservoir contenant plusieurs dizaines de tonnes de déchets nucléaires explose.

Si les autorités occidentales suspectent alors un accident, celui-ci ne sera révélé publiquement qu’en 1980 par Jaurès Medvedev. L’opacité dans laquelle l’URSS gère cet accident ne met pas en garde les politiques, les administrateurs et les populations civiles des pays où le recours à l’énergie nucléaire est décidé. Cette opacité dans la gestion des accidents nucléaire n’est pas propre à l’URSS, la majorité des incidents qui surviennent par la suite dans les réacteurs des pays occidentaux, certes de moindre ampleur, sont gérés de façon similaire. Tandis que les exploitants vantent leurs infrastructures sécurisées par l’association de la technologie moderne et d’un savoir scientifique de pointe.

Le nucléaire civil bénéficie alors d’une grande confiance des opinions publiques, qui ignorent largement les conséquences d’un accident nucléaire et estiment ainsi le risque très minime. Plus de 20 ans après l’explosion de Kychtym, le 28 mars 1979 l’accident de la centrale de Three Miles Island aux États-Unis, vient entamer le consensus autour de l’impossibilité d’un accident nucléaire. Pourtant, le bilan de celui-ci, qui ne fait état d’aucune victime directe et dont l’irradiation des sols et de la rivière est invisible et diffuse, n’est pas perçu comme catastrophique et n’influe pas sur la gestion ni sur la perception du nucléaire civil.

Les 2 tours de refroidissement de la 1ere tranche de la centrale PWR de Three Mile Island (Etats-Unis) (hauteur 125m ; puissance 805 MWe). Photo Jean-Paul ANTOINE, fonds Jean-Luc et Sylvie BURGUNDER, Fondation de l’Ecologie Politique.

En France, les différents experts argumentent la cause des filières nationales et de leurs exceptionnelles sécurités. Pourtant le doute s’immisce dans les esprits des citoyens et vient soutenir les contestations populaires et politiques à l’encontre des chantiers du plan Messmer.

Moins d’une décennie plus tard, le 26 avril 1986, l’accident de Tchernobyl en Ukraine entame un peu plus la rassurante certitude d’une technologie infaillible. Le mythe de la sécurité inébranlable de l’industrie nucléaire est profondément secoué par l’ampleur sanitaire et environnementale de l’accident, découvertes au fur et à mesure. Le nucléaire devient anxiogène.

26 avril 1986 : Tchernobyl, Ukraine

Le 25 avril, alors qu’une expérience est menée sur le réacteur n°4 de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, de type RBMK comme la plupart des réacteurs soviétiques, l’équipe de techniciens en charge commet de graves violations des règles d’exploitation. Ils isolent le circuit de refroidissement de secours du réacteur et placent la puissance du réacteur à un niveau particulièrement instable. Dans la nuit, le réacteur s’emballe. Le 26 avril à 01h23 en quelques secondes l’augmentation de la puissance génère une explosion qui projette les 1000 tonnes de la dalle du réacteur en l’air. Celle-ci retombe sur le réacteur et le fend. 50 tonnes de combustibles radioactifs entrent ainsi en fusion. Quelques secondes plus tard une seconde explosion a lieu. 5 à 10 fois plus puissante que la première, celle-ci éventre un peu plus le bâtiment et propulse 70 autres tonnes de combustibles autour du réacteur. Un panache radioactif s’échappe alors du réacteur endommagé où la fusion continue.

État de la contamination au césium-137 en 1996 suite à l’accident de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, 2006, Eric Gaba.

Un nuage radioactif se forme au dessus du site et se diffuse graduellement sur la presque totalité du territoire européen.

À Prypiat, et dans les villages avoisinants la centrale, l’évacuation se fait dans la journée du 27 avril. Alors que le feu radioactif continue de rejeter sa fumée, les premiers liquidateurs sont envoyés sur les lieux pour estimer les dégâts et tenter d’éteindre l’incendie. Ils sont plusieurs centaines de milliers de jeunes hommes enrôlés par l’armée à être envoyés sur place pendant plusieurs mois après l’extinction, pour nettoyer les lieux et bâtir le “sarcophage” qui couvre le réacteur dans le bout d’enfermer la radioactivité.

 

“ Nous manquions de dosimètres. En quatre ans et demi, je n’ai jamais vu un seul de ces appareils surnommés « crayons » qui indiquent l’accumulation des doses d’irradiation extérieure. Et nous ignorions ce que montraient les « cassettes » que l’on nous donnait pour l’équipe entière. Elles étaient conçues pour de petites doses : lorsque la dose était élevée, on savait que le plafond était dépassé, mais il était impossible de savoir de combien.”

Manzourova Natalia, liquidatrice, « De la «Tracée» à la «Zone». Tumultes 1/2009 (n° 32-33) , p. 145-159.

En France, la gestion du passage du nuage radioactif provenant de l’explosion de Tchernobyl est symptomatique de l’opacité qui entoure les incidents nucléaires. Alors que le passage du nuage est avéré au-dessus des pays frontaliers de la France, le discours institutionnel véhiculé par le Service central de protection contre les rayonnements ionisants (SCPRI), et par son Directeur Pierre Pellerin, assure que le nuage ne s’est pas introduit au dessus du territoire français.

C’est un véritable travail de dissimulation auquel s’adonne le SCPRI au cours des 10 jours qui suivent l’accident. Les médias sont mis à profit, la météo télévisée évoque la présence miraculeuse d’un anticyclone qui maintient le nuage radioactif aux frontières orientales de l’Hexagone.

“ C’est le genre d’évènement dont je dirais qu’ils ont une fin ouverte. Ce sont des catastrophes illimitées dans le temps, dans l’espace et dans le social. C’est pour ça que même en prenant appui sur des statistiques par exemple, nous avons du mal à appréhender le nombre de morts et de blessés que cela entraîne. Pour pousser le raisonnement on peut dire qu’aujourd’hui 25 ans après Tchernobyl, les victimes de cet accident ne sont même pas encore nées.” Ulrich Beck

Depuis le film Le monde après Fukushima, Kenichi Watanabe, 2012.

Dans les centres de recherche du CEA, les portiques des centrales EDF détectent bien le passage du nuage, cependant on leur défend de diffuser des informations au public. Dans le même temps, alors que les pays voisins de la France prennent de nombreuses mesures préventives de protection des populations notamment en interdisant la consommation de denrées fraîches, les autorités ne prennent aucune initiative.

 

« A Saclay (CEA), la direction avait fait interdire un tract explicatif des mesures que nous avions prises, qui ne montrait pourtant rien de très inquiétant »,

se rappelle M. Zerbib, ancien ingénieur de radioprotection au CEA.

 

 

Ce véritable mensonge d’État est dès le départ démenti par de nombreuses voix qui s’élèvent dans les milieux scientifiques et qui s’indignent de l’inaction des pouvoirs publics. Dans l’Est de la France, des citoyens se fédèrent et procèdent à leurs propres mesures sur le terrain. Née de cette initiative, la Commission de recherche et d’information indépendante sur la radioactivité (CRII-Rad) conteste les évaluations du SCPRI et exerce une contre expertise.

Dans cette même logique l’Association pour le contrôle de la radioactivité des l’Ouest – ACRO a aussi joué un rôle très important d’expertise citoyenne et de contre-pouvoir dans le domaine nucléaire.

 

 

Le 10 mai, Pierre Pellerin dans une confrontation télévisée avec Monique Sené, physicienne nucléaire, chercheuse au CNRS, avoue le passage du nuage au dessus de la France.

La critique qui fait suite à l’accident de Tchernobyl porte alors majoritairement sur le traitement de l’information et le mensonge d’Etat que vers une remise en cause de la sécurité du modèle nucléaire. Après le discrédit du discours médiatique, celui des experts met en avant l’exceptionnelle sécurité des infrastructures françaises face à la vétusté des réacteurs soviétiques. Les deux incidents survenus à la centrale de Saint-Laurent-des-Eaux, sur la Loire en 1963, puis en 1980, montrent pourtant que des failles existaient déjà en France.

L’accident de Tchernobyl marque tout de même une nouvelle impulsion pour la critique anti-nucléaire à travers l’Europe : en 1987, l’Italie organise un référendum qui exprime la volonté d’une majorité de citoyens de ne plus recourir à l’énergie nucléaire ; en Allemagne, le Parti social démocrate (SPD) prévoit une sortie du nucléaire. Mais ces remises en cause de la viabilité de l’électricité d’origine nucléaire restent des cas isolés.

 

11 mars 2011 : Fukushima, Japon

Il faut attendre la dernière catastrophe nucléaire en date, celle de Fukushima au Japon, pour que le discours véhiculé par les exploitants à l’époque de Tchernobyl se retrouve à nouveau sur la sellette. Dans les jours qui suivent le 11 mars 2011 et l’enchaînement dévastateur d’un tremblement de terre et d’un tsunami, 4 coeurs de réacteur de la centrale de Fukushima Daïchi entrent en fusion.

 

Le Japon, exemple de technologie et de démocratie moderne, a été le théâtre d’un désastre nucléaire. La France, et les pays occidentaux en général, réalisent alors qu’ils ne sont pas à l’abris d’un accident du même type sur leur territoire.

 

Dans les médias prévaut toujours l’idée qu’un séisme d’une puissance exceptionnelle puis un tsunami tels ceux qui ont touché les côtes japonaises, sont des risques qui ne pourraient pas se reproduire en France. Exit la tempête de 1999 qui avait pourtant montré la vulnérabilité aux inondations de la centrale du Blayais et la localisation de la centrale de Fessenheim sur un point sismique sensible.

Suite à l’accident au Japon, l’Autorité de sûreté nucléaire (ASN) demande à l’exploitant EDF la mise en place des mesures de sûreté supplémentaires. Mais de fait, la politique énergétique de la France ne subit aucun changement de cap.

Dans les autres pays au contraire, on tire les enseignements de la catastrophe : le Japon décide d’une sortie immédiate et définitive du nucléaire, l’Allemagne ; la Suisse et la Belgique annoncent elles une sortie progressive.

Finalement, est-ce que la raison l’emportera un jour ?

La probabilité calculée de l’occurrence d’un accident nucléaire, agitée par les partisans de la filière à l’heure du plan Messmer en 1974, affichait un chiffre complètement résiduel de l’ordre de une sur plusieurs millions, autrement dit sur un accident tous les 25 000 ans. Il n’en est rien. Les différents accidents qui ont marqué le siècle dernier démontrent tous la vulnérabilité des installations nucléaires à l’erreur humaine autant qu’aux dysfonctionnements et aux risques naturels.

Dans une interview au quotidien Libération le 3 mars 2016, Pierre-Franck Chevet, président de l’Autorité de sûreté nucléaire, déplore ce manque de prise de conscience des risques : « Il faut imaginer qu’un accident de type Fukushima puisse survenir en Europe».

Les conséquences désastreuses et à très long terme de ces accidents doivent nous amener à réfléchir sur l’utilisation et la poursuite d’un modèle énergétique qui s’est avéré chroniquement dévastateur. Car les responsabilités qui découlent de ces non-choix seront écrasantes pour les générations futures.